Texas is serious about preventing DWIs, which is why it has very harsh penalties for those who commit them. As someone who has been accused of driving while impaired, you need to understand how expensive a DWI can be as well as the toll it can take on your life in the longer-term.
On top of the normal penalties for a DWI, the state also imposes state fines. These are on top of other kinds of fees and fines that may be assessed.
How much are Texas’s DWI state fines?
For a first-offense DWI, the state fine is $3,000. For A second offense, it increases to $4,500. A third-offense fine jumps up to $6,000.
Those fines are already quite expensive, but you also have to consider the penalty fines that come with these offenses as well. First offenses are fined up to $2,000. Second offenses have fines of up to $4,000. Third offenses have a $10,000 fine.
So, all in all, you’re looking at up to $5,000 in fines alone for a first-offense DWI, up to $8,500 for a second-offense DWI and as much as $16,000 for the third offense.
Fines aren’t the only penalties to be concerned about
Fines are costly and add up, but they’re not all that will make a DWI expensive. You will also likely see an increase in the cost of your auto insurance. You may have to pay to get your license reinstated. You could also lose your job or miss work because of having to spend time in jail (there are jail penalties possible with each type of DWI).
How can you reduce the cost of a DWI?
One of the better things to do is to try to avoid getting a DWI to begin with. After you’re accused of the offense, you may want to start taking legal action and building a strong defense against the allegations.
If you can get the charges reduced, go through an alternative sentencing process or have the charges dropped, then you may not see as many, or any, penalties. While you may have legal expenses, they may be much less than you would have paid for your DWI.