You and your daughter are returning home from a party when you see flashing red and blue lights behind you. When the policeman approaches your window, he tells you that he pulled you over because you were weaving, and he suspects that you are intoxicated. The officer administers a breathalyzer test and determines that you are, indeed, intoxicated.
The state of Texas takes driving while under the influence of drugs and alcohol very seriously. The penalties are stiff, to say the least. Depending on how many times you have been cited, the penalties may be permanent.
This is your first offense, but the penalties will be even more severe because you have a child under the age of 15 in the car. Driving while under the influence with a child in the car is a felony, and the penalties are severe.
DWI penalties in Texas
If you receive a DWI and a child is a passenger in your car, you will be fined up to $10,000, spend two years in jail, and your license will be suspended for 180 days. Child endangerment charges could also be brought against you. Additional charges of serious bodily injury (SBI) could be added to the charges if the child was injured in an accident as a direct result of your negligence.
In addition to those stiff penalties, the prosecutor is required to report your DWI to Child Protective Services. There’s a very real possibility that you could lose custody of your child. If you have been arrested for DWI with a child passenger contact an experienced legal guide to discuss your options.