There are many different reasons and ways that people in Texas obtain property of other people. Many times it is because they purchase the property. Sometimes, though, people may borrow tools or other equipment from a neighbor or friend for a particular project. People also receive gifts from people for a variety of reasons. However, people also sometimes take the property from others without the owner’s permission. When this happens the person who took the property could be charged with theft.
People who are convicted of theft can face very serious consequences as a result. However, the potential consequences depend on the amount stolen. Minor theft offenses under $50 is a class C misdemeanor and the person may be fined among other penalties. The most serious consequences are for those who take $200,000 or more. People who take that amount could be charged with a first-degree felony, which could result in significant jail time and fines.
In between these two levels of consequences there are five different levels of consequences. Between $50 and $500 is a class B misdemeanor; between $500 and $1,500 is a class A misdemeanor; between $1,500 and $20,000 is a state jail felony; between $20,000 and $100,000 is a third-degree felony and between $100,000 and $200,000 is a second-degree felony.
These consequences only occur if the person is convicted though. Simply being charged does not mean that the person is guilty. People may have defenses available to them such as the fact that they did not intend to permanently deprive the other person of the property.
Many people in Texas are charged with theft each year. People who are charged will have to go through the criminal justice process before they can be convicted though. If they are not convicted at the end of the process, they will not realize the consequences. There could be defenses available to them. Experienced attorneys understand the potential defenses and may be able to protect one’s rights.