What are the penalties for marijuana possession in Texas?

Some states in the nation have been taking a more relaxed legal approach to marijuana possession, but Texas still takes a hard stance when it comes to marijuana. While it may be de-criminalized elsewhere or even permitted both medically and/or recreationally, in Longview even the possession of a small amount of marijuana could lead to criminal penalties.

In the Lone Star State, if a person possesses less than two ounces of the drug, he or she could receive a jail sentence of 180 days and a $2,000 fine. The possession of two to four ounces of marijuana is a Class A misdemeanor. The possession of four ounces to five pounds of marijuana is a state jail felony. The possession of five to 50 pounds of marijuana is a felony in the third degree. The possession of 50 to 2000 pounds of marijuana is a felony in the second degree. Finally, the possession of more than 2000 pounds of marijuana could lead to a lifetime prison sentence and a $50,000 fine.

Texas does allow for the possession of medical marijuana in very limited circumstances. A person with intractable epilepsy may be prescribed low-THC, high CBD oil. The possession of raw herb and other marijuana preparations is still illegal, even medicinally.

Drug possession, even marijuana possession, carries stiff penalties in Longview. Jail time and fines resulting from a drug possession conviction could change a person’s life forever, even after their sentence is served. People who are facing drug possession charges involving marijuana will want to take the steps necessary to cultivate a solid legal defense, with the intention of having the charges reduced or dismissed.